Hi there, I have a few questions.

Please can all members introduce yourself in here.

Moderator: Oberleutnant Ulrich

Dragon

Hi there, I have a few questions.

Post by Dragon »

Hi everyone, I've a complete newbie, and I'd like to ask a few questions, some I'm sure you've heard a million times, and I have looked around the forums, and there's some great information here, but I have a pre-set script I've been sending to organisations that I'll paste here, because I'd like to hear as many answers as possible from as many people as possible, so I may understand the norm, so to speak. :)
Hello,

I've been interested in Living History Re-enacting for some time, and I'd like to learn more about it.

For instance, are events scripted based on actual historical battles (the main reason I ask, is.. how do you know if you're "dead" in an event), what licensing is required for the blank firing weapons you use, if any, and / or does administration for Kompanie 1 securely retain / allow the hire of weapons for events. Also are there any specific vendors for Uniforms you would recommend.

Are there areas of the country you predominantly meet? I live on the Isle of Wight, so for example if your group regularly meets in Yorkshire for example, I wouldn't be able to give it the commitment it required.

Do you require your actors to be fluent in German? I have a reasonable level of German, and it wouldn't take much for me to learn more, as I'm always exchanging sentences and grammar with a German colleague of mine.

What training is required? I am of reasonable physical fitness, but as it is authentic living history, I'm guessing the learning of manouvres and battle tactics are required, when and where would these be taught?

And finally, I wear glasses, obviously mine aren't "period" but I wouldn't be able to function without them, are there places that I could have my prescription lenses put into some "of the period" frames?