Need Some Help With a Non Running CJ750

For all your vehicle questions etc.

Moderator: Pug42

Geldor

Need Some Help With a Non Running CJ750

Post by Geldor »

I just recently picked up a CJ750 in non running order and need some help with it. The Bike was in running condition but was blowing some white smoke. It went to a gentlemen (if you can call him that) that claimed he knew how to work on the bike. It got the improved pistons/rings installed along with new cylinders. The guy also claims to have done a full tune up but could never get it running again. It went from that owner to other and now to me, and it hasn't ran since that menace put his hands on it.

I'll also just go out to say that I am not a mechanic however after hours/days of research and tinkering The bike is closer to starting/Running again now more then it has been in a long time. I've got new spark plugs, a new battery, replaced all the old fuel, oil, pulled the heads/cylinders off and doubled checked the ring gaps. She's got all new gaskets, I re-gapped the valve clearances, and retimed the bike according to the manual, and rebuild the carburetors to the best of my knowledge and ability.

So I pretty sure the bike is getting fuel, I know its getting air and spark, maybe its just lacking compression? So before I get some oversized piston rings or something, I was wondering what kind of compression (PSI) should it get? I got a tester and she's getting 35PSI in both cylinders. That seems low to me, but on 24HP 750CC engine designed in the 1930's maybe that's fine? Again I'm not a mechanic so if there's anyone else out there with a CJ750 could you test your compression for me, or if there's anyone else out there that knows a lot more then me with engines I would really appreciate the help, Thanks!
pepperpot

Re: Need Some Help With a Non Running CJ750

Post by pepperpot »