private battles were have they all gone?

General reenactment discussion

Moderator: Jaws

meyer

private battles were have they all gone?

Post by meyer »

Now don't get me wrong i an't haveing a pop at anyone but is it just me or is there a total lack of battles this winter apart from dukes c :?:
Hans Gowert

Re: private battles were have they all gone?

Post by Hans Gowert »

money ?
paul das reich

Post by paul das reich »

at nearly ten bob a shot they can go as far away as poss, especialy as we axis tend to put rounds at a rate or 10 to 1 against any allied forces.
Jaws

Post by Jaws »

I'm new to this, is it because of a lack of organization?
Regards,
Gary.
S.A.S.A.B.
Society Against Splinter A Bandoliers

Find The Frontline Association on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TheFrontlineAssociation
Pug42

Post by Pug42 »

Where to start!?

1) A thankless task to organise one - lots of bureaucracy theses days (H&S, Risk assessments, Insurance, permissions etc)

2) A financial risk to take, attendances have got lower over past few years

3) Disagreements as to what type of event to put on - a full blown tactical 'living history' weekend or at the other end of the scale an out-and-out blatfest? The two 'camps' do not see eye to eye!

4) WW2 Airsoft seems to have made a lot of progress and I'm sure has diverted a lot of folk who would formerly have done these reenactment jollies...

Sad all the same...
David

Stimme aus dem sumpf...

STURMPANZER ABTEILUNG
Gren-Schell

Post by Gren-Schell »

Or, eveyone is shell-shocked from all the events during the spring and summer and have gone into 'winter quarters' to recoop and rest!!! :wink:
It's not real... it's called re-enacting!
JDR

Post by JDR »

You can add the loss of sites to battle on to the list.

Also it seemed to get popular for many reenactors to just battle on the saturday and leave on the saturday teatime thus leaving the sunday to be an half empty event, which can put a downer on things.